The My Writing Process Blog Tour

Horror author Jo-Anne Russell invited me on this blog tour. You can find out more about her and her novel The Nightmare Project at: http://jo-annerussell.blogspot.ca

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis tour is all about writing process. I find writing such a personal thing. Everyone does it differently and it works for them, but trying someone else’s routine or method can sometimes knock you right off your rails! So here are my answers. For readers, you might find it interesting and for you new writers out there, maybe you’ll find something useful.

Questions answered by me, Emmy Z. Madrigal, about writing the Sweet Dreams Series.

tlsmall1) What am I working on?

Reading the proof and making final changes to True Love?, which will come out in print in July. Also writing #6, 2 B with U. I just hit the 18,000 mark and introduced a new character that I love.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think what makes mine different from other high school dramas is that I try to keep the situations real, meaningful, and with situations that lovers in high school deal with. The music element is unique as well. I always thought of my books as a modern version of Fame, but now that Glee is in the picture, I think it’s most like that, except not being on national television, I can keep the sex scenes. No fade to black here!

3) Why do I write what I do?

I can’t help myself. Sweet Dreams just pours out of me. I know the characters so well, they are like family. In fact, my husband and I treat them like people we know. My husband will come home and say, “I saw Mr. Malloy today.” And I know he means he saw a gentleman in his late fifties, dressed in a full suit, commanding attention, even if he was just at the 7-11. Since my husband is a writer, I talk about his characters the same way. We often wonder what would happen if they met, and then it goes all down hill from there.  I made up these characters in high school, so they’ve been with me longer than any friend, before I met my husband, and have stayed true to their nature. They sometimes wake me up at night to tell me a story, but as long as they don’t disappear, I won’t complain.

AG2Final4) How does my writing process work?

I am still one of those authors who hand write my work. I will write sixty-some pages out and when I get to the point where I don’t remember what I’ve written, or have to go back to check a plot line or something, I will type it in and print it out. My mind works much too fast for typing in stories. Writing long hand makes my mind slow down and think about description and mood. When I type it in, then I can add in a lot of detail and scene transition. I also like the flexibility of hand writing my work. I write in little Japanese notebooks that are easily taken with me. #6 2 B with U, was written in the park, the beach, Los Angeles, San Francisco, in my house, in my car, in the waiting room, etc… Versatility is a plus when I’m on the go. The only work I’ve typed in while writing is the Anime Girl series. For some reason, those ideas came to me late at night when I was just about to sleep and the only thing I had with me at the time was my tablet, so by the glow of tablet light, I typed away.

Hope this was fun to read. Remember, if you ever have questions about me, the series, or my writing habits, please contact me at: emzbox13@gmail.com

 Next on the blog tour will be three lovely ladies. Their posts will go live on July 21st. Please check them out!

Carrie Sessarego is the resident ‘geek reviewer’ for smartbitchestrashybooks.com, and the creator and writer of geekgirlinlove.com.  She’s the author of Pride, Prejudice, and Popcorn:  TV and Film Adaptations of Pride and Prejudice, Wuthering Heights, and Jane Eyre, as well as Romance in Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  When not reading and writing, you can find Carrie volunteering for the Sacramento Public Library, and getting into trouble with her mad scientist husband, amazing daughter, suitably mysterious cats, and highly neurotic dog.  Carrie’s zombie apocalypse kit contains copies of Jane Eyre, Lord of the Rings, and many, many Oreos.

Chantal Boudreau is an accountant by day and an author/illustrator during evenings and weekends, who lives by the ocean in beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada with her husband and two children. In addition to being a CMA-MBA, she has a BA with a major in English from Dalhousie University. An affiliate member of the Horror Writers Association, she writes and illustrates horror, dark fantasy and fantasy and has had several of her stories published in a variety of horror anthologies, online journals and magazines. Fervor, her debut novel, a dystopian science fantasy tale, was released in March of 2011 by May December Publications, followed by its sequels, Elevation, Transcendence and Providence. Magic University, the first in her fantasy series, Masters & Renegades, made its appearance in September 2011 followed by Casualties of War in 2012 and Prisoners of Fate, in 2013. Find out more at: http://chantellyb.wordpress.com

Elizabeth Delana Rosa has always been a writer. When she first learned to write in Kindergarten, she wrote about pigs who “groo” wings and became “butterfys.” Elizabeth knew way back then that she would have a love affair with writing. It overtook her life and has been a constant companion. Now over 20 years later, that love flows over into writing blogs, reviews, poetry and fantasy novels. Lastly Elizabeth is a big nerd. She loves Fantasy, YA, Paranormal Romance, and Sci-Fi books. Her dream is to promote Authors and help them reach the highest level of Success, while writing her own YA and NA Fantasy Novels. She often says, “I do hope that my stories connect with people of all ages, genders and races. All it takes is a good story to unite people who wouldn’t normally be on the same side.” Find out more at: http://elizabethblogsaboutitall.wordpress.com

 ******************************

Emmy Z. Madrigal is the author of the musical romance series, Sweet Dreams and the artist spin-off Anime Girl. Her love of music and the Jazz masters of the Big Band Era have always inspired her life and her writing. She also writes horror and vampire fiction under the name Emerian Rich. To find out more, go to: sweetdreamsnovel.com

One Comment to “The My Writing Process Blog Tour”

  1. Reblogged this on emz unplugged and commented:

    A nice post about my writing process from the romance side.

Leave a Reply

