Top 5 Holiday Romance Films

Hiya Sweet Dreamers! It’s Emmy here.
You know, during the holidays, I just want to cuddle by the fire and watch movies, Since Rob hasn’t been cast in a major motion picture yet, I settle for holiday romance flicks.

Here are my top five:

  1. While You Were Sleeping I never would have picked Bill Pullman for the heartthrob type, but he does a great job in this film. Sandra Bullock is one of my favorite romantic comedy actresses and she plays a great poor gal in this show. How did they get her hair to look so dirty? Peter Gallagher (although I prefer him as the heartthrob) is actually funny in this, as are the cast that plays his family.
  2. The Holiday Kate Winslet is so cute in this movie. I love her adventure to California, where she meets an old movie guy. Their relationship is so cute, I just want to squeeze them up in a big hug! I never thought Jack Black could play a descent love interest, but they somehow made it work here without being creepy. As for fabulous Cameron and Jude, well they are both gorgeous, it’s not a shock that they get together. I like how they find each other and how she discovers his real secret isn’t as underhanded as she thinks.
  3. Love Actually There are so many stories going on in this one, it’s hard to choose my favorite. I love Hugh Grant in this. He is actually a stand up guy… not a womanizer like he plays in a lot of films. Colin Firth is lovable in a sad way. And I always hope that little boy will get to his girl in time! Not to mention a great soundtrack featuring the song that has become one of my favs… “All I Want For Christmas Is You.”
  4. White Christmas Nothing like a great classic to bring a smile to your face. I love the relationship between Danny Kaye & Bing Crosby. I like seeing into their day to day show business lives. Danny Kaye has to be one of the best looking men of that time. I think he gets overlooked because he is usually playing the comedy relief, but he is my favorite of the era. My favorite scene is Rosemary Clooney, in the club, floor-length black dress that looks like it was painted on, long silver gloves, hair sculpted into that perfect curl, signing… “Love You Didn’t Do Right By Me.” And this movie pushed me to look up a word!  Yes, that’s right… I was totally baffled when he said “snood”. Turns out it’s a woman’s hair accessory.
  5. Emma circa 1996 While not a Christmas movie, per se, Emma does go to a dinner in the snow and attends a few Christmas events during the movie. Jeremy Northam as Mr. Knightly, couldn’t have been cast better. One of my favorite scenes is at the holiday dinner when Mr. Knightly says, “And she (her baby niece) looks so fetching in the arms of her Aunt.” And then he tries to make amends for their earlier fight. It’s great to see the families gathering for holiday festivities.

So now that I’ve shared mine, why not tell me and the other Sweet Dreamers, what your favorite holiday films are.

Leave a Reply

